The Drive

img_0365After the first three days of anxiety and vigorous exercise at school, I was ready to drop dead into my warm, soft bed. However, as I closely approached my awaited heaven, the image of relaxing and playing games shattered. My dad, who rapidly barged into my room, commanded, “Pack your things! We’re going to San Francisco.” I stood there in shock, excited but annoyed. He stared at my annoyed face and questioned, “What? Hurry up! Let’s go.” I complained to my mom secretly on my way to the car, but she simply reassured me with an “Alright.” As we got into the car, my mind blurred with irritating plans on how to get my homework done in San Francisco. Another family traveled with us in a separate car, and the expected time until arrival was  approximately six to seven hours. Aiming to preserve battery life, I avoided using my phone for music until we traveled further. I spent about one hour listening to my road-rage driver dad complain about other drivers, but he was pretty bad himself. Furthermore, I listened to my sister yapping about her boring life at home (she had not started school yet at the time) and my mom was snoring away until we arrived at our destination. Eventually, I placed the pods of relaxation into my ears to listen to my wide range of genres. Scenery after scenery passed by as we drove closer. I saw the mountains reigning over the land, surrounding their treasure: skyblue bodies of water and waves of green trees. As the moon rose, the plains were dark and mysterious, waiting for someone to use their bright mind to create images of what was really out there. My imagination would change every time a song changed: I had my own mini-adventure in my open world, my free world. As more time passed, we approached our hotel, my prison, and rested for the night. I noticed many faults within the room, and I still held onto my previous “attitude.” Unfortunately, the bed’s itchiness bothered me, but my exhaustion put me to sleep.

img_0378Since I was the last one to wake, everything opened up just for me: the restroom, the sink, and the last hashbrown. I took my time in the shower, and I walked out into the freezing cold without my forgotten jacket, left at the foot of my bed. Within minutes, we drove to the Golden Gate Bridge and strolled in the area. After our small self-tour, we headed for Chinatown and Little Italy. I had nobody my age to talk to but the two little kids, my sister, Nerissa, and a friend, Steven, who I could only tolerate for a limited amount of time. We explored together through Chinatown sharing jokes and spotting some souvenirs to bring back home. The most memorable event of the trip was a woman walked up to us and handing us a massage advertisement . Steven and I both grabbed the advertisement without thought and mimicked each other unintentionally: look down, look up, turn, stare, and laugh at the unwanted advertisement. I had no idea how we connected. I knew him for quite some time and saw him as a little brother; his biological older brother who was at home avoiding the trip.  I thought to myself, as we drove back to the hotel, both young and old can connect regardless of age.

img_0428Our second to last day braced me for a ride through memory lane. A boat fishing trip helped me wrap up my experiences in San Francisco to remember what I forgot. We set sail after picking up the necessary supplies. There were tons of chances, but the professional, who didn’t want to fish at the time, let the fathers handle the job: our chances and supplies exponentially decreased. We still had a backup food source, such as the instant ramen, hot n spicy sausages, and tender medium rare steak. However, the main reason for my remembrance was what I did on the boat with my friend and sister. We raced up and down the boat resembling pirates, and we sat on the top deck as the boat swayed and the refreshing wind blew. I took countless naps until I watched the sunset. It was amazing with the soothing wind and reflective water. I gazed into the sky until we sailed back. In the end, this drive and following adventure helped me remember what I really love to do instead of analyzing books and playing games; my true passion is for new discoveries.  

Leave a Reply

